I’m thinking about dad this morning.  Maybe it’s because I preached on the Father Love of God this past Sunday.  Maybe it’s because my dad is here visiting us from the East Coast and I’m getting to spend a lot of time with him.  Maybe it’s because today is my dad’s 61st birthday.  Maybe it’s because dad has always been in my mind and my heart no matter the time or season in my life.  So today is his birthday.  I’m going to take him and the whole family out to a nice buffet for lunch to celebrate!  As I reflect, I can truly say that I’m very thankful for my dad.  Over the years, there were times when I wasn’t sure we’d make it.  I remember many moments of anger and hostility in our relationship.  I remember the many arguments, disagreements, and the many fights that we had.  My dad is definitely not perfect and he has made his share of mistakes.  But then, how can I hold that against him when I consider the fact that I’m not perfect and that I’ve made a ton of mistakes as well?!  My dad is a good man and sometimes that’s the best a son could hope for in a world full of bad men.  I’ve really come to appreciate him.  I’ve very thankful that God has blessed me with a good dad.

He’s 61 years old today.  That means that he’s in the latter stages of his life now.  I’m determined to make the most of the time that I have with him while he’s still here.  He’s truly a gift to me from God.  Sometimes I forget that.  I want to be like my dad as I now have a son as well.